Automation Alley

Automation Alley Awards Gala Past Winners

Automation Alley Awards Gala winners represent the most innovative, impactful and successful individuals and organizations in Southeast Michigan’s technology community. As Southeast Michigan’s premier business awards event, the Awards Gala honors the game changers driving economic growth in our region. 

Automation Alley Member of the Year 

2013      Rochelle A. Black (Oakland University)
2012 Laura Oliveto (Basso Design Group)
2011 Al Carpinelli (Logic Solutions, Inc.)
2010 John Almstadt (Oakland County Workforce Development Division)
2009 Hennessey Capital
2008 Stephen Cassin (Macomb County Government)
2007 David Darbyshire (DASI Solutions, LLC)
2006 Dawn Smith (Oakland County)
2005 Dr. Patrick Callaghan (AlixPartners)
2004 Jenn Cornell (Eiler Communications)
2003 John Channell (Resource Technologies Corporation)
2002 Lawrence Technological University
2001 Tom Wilkinson (Fourmation Technologies, Inc.)

Educational Program of the Year 

2013       Central Michigan University New Venture Competition (Central Michigan University)
2012 Fifth Core™ World Language & Culture Program (Oxford Community Schools)
2011 Utica Community Schools Center for Science and Industry (Utica Community Schools)
2010 Baker College Online (Baker College)
2009 Michigan Virtual University
2008 Southeast Michigan Community College Consortium Centers of Expertise Program (Southeast Michigan Community
                College Consortium)
2007 Hustle & TECHknow Preparatory High School
2006 Integration 2000 (Malow Junior High)
2005 Haas Technical Education Centers (HTECs) (Gerotech)
2004 F.I.R.S.T Robotics
2003 A World in Motion (SAE Foundation)
2002 Applied Technology in Business (ATiB) Program (Oakland University)
2001 Oakland County Competitive Robotics Association (Oakland Schools)

Entrepreneur of the Year 

2013       Bill Coughlin (Ford Global Technologies, LLC)
2012 Jake Sigal (Livio Radio)
2011 Paul Angott (Angott Medical Products, LLC)

Global Trader of the Year 

2013       Fluxtrol, Inc.
2012 Dan Kocks (Global Impact Group, MFG)
2011 The Wireless Source

 Technology Company of the Year

2013       Pratt & Miller Engineering
2012 GalaxE.Solutions Inc.
2011 Lakeside Software, Inc.
2010 Rave Computer
2009 Grid4 Communications
2008 Adaptive Materials, Inc.
2007 Plexus Systems, Inc. 
2006 Lear Corporation
2004 Clarity Technologies Inc. 
2003 Altair Engineering 
2002 EDS
2001 Great Lakes Technologies Group

Emerging Leader of the Year (awarded 2005-2011)

2011 Daniel Jaraczewski (R&E Automated Systems)
2010 Saylor X. Frase (Nuspire Networks)
2009 Bill Wagner (SRT Solutions)
2008 Dilip Dubey (Netlink Software Group)
2007 Richard Sheridan (Menlo Innovations, LLC)
2006 Gary Pilibosian (Microheat, Inc.)
2005 Dr. K. Joel Berry (Kettering University)

Emerging Technology Company of the Year (awarded 2005-2011)

2010 Critical Signal Technologies, Inc.
2009 My1HIE
2008 MIST Innovations Inc.
2007 RazorThreat 
2006 Plexus Systems, Inc.
2005 Infor
2004 CogniTens, Inc.
2003 Holographic Imaging 
2002 The Wireless Source 
2001 Michigan Technology News.Com 

CEO of the Year (awarded 2001-2010)

2010 Prabhakar Patil (LG Chem Power Inc.)
2009 Cynthia J. Pasky (Strategic Staffing Solutions)
2008 Kenneth Matzick (Beaumont Hospitals)
2007 George Jackson, Jr. (Detroit Economic Growth Corporation)
2006 Josh Linkner (ePrize, LLC)
2005 John Sanderson (Siemens VDO Automotive Corp.)
2004 Ron Wood (Modern Engineering, Inc.)
2003 Tony Takeuchi (DENSO International America, Inc.)
2002 Doug Rothwell (Michigan Economic Development Corporation)
2001 Larry Yost (ArvinMeritor, Inc.)

Regional Innovator of the Year (awarded 2010)

2010 New Economy Initiative for Southeast Michigan

Legend CEO (awarded 2001-2009)

2009 Terence Adderly (Kelly Services, Inc.)
2008 Robert Stempel (Energy Conversion Devices Inc.)
2007 Charles "Chip" McClure (ArvinMeritor, Inc.)
2006 Gail Torreano (AT&T)
2005 Richard E. Dauch (American Axle and Manufacturing, Inc.)
2004 Larry Yost (ArvinMeritor, Inc.)
2003 L. Brooks Patterson (Oakland County)
2002 J.T. Battenberg III (Delphi Corporation)
2001 Rajendra Vattikuti (Covansys Corp.) 

Non-Profit Organization of the Year (awarded 2005-2009)

2009 Rochester Regional Chamber of Commerce
2008 Inforum
2007 Michigan Manufacturing Technology Center 
2006 New Horizons Rehabilitation Services Inc
2005 Beaumont Hospitals

CIO of the Year (awarded 2001-2006)

2006 John Crary (Lear Corporation)
2005 No Award Made
2004 Phil Bertolini (Oakland County)
2003 Ralph Szygenda (General Motors)
2002 Susan Unger (DaimlerChrysler)
2001 Erik Naugle (ANXeBusiness Corp.)