Automation Alley Technology Awards Gala

Each year, we recognize the leaders and innovators of Southeast Michigan’s technology business community. These are the individuals, companies and organizations that are exploring new possibilities in emerging tech sectors and providing a creative vision for our region’s growing technology economy.

Award Categories

Technology Company of the Year
Southeast Michigan’s leading tech companies are pushing the boundaries to develop the products and solutions shaping our future. The Technology Company of the Year Award recognizes one local company that has succeeded in commercializing new technologies, demonstrates growth and is enhancing our region as a center for innovation.

Entrepreneur of the Year
Behind every great business is a passionate leader. The Entrepreneur of the Year Award recognizes those emerging innovators who posses a creative spirit and a vision for our region’s future and whose influential presence is making an impact today.

Educational Company of the Year
The economic success of our region starts with a strong foundation of science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) in the classroom. The Educational Program of the Year Award recognizes one outstanding educational initiative that’s helping to develop a highly-skilled workforce by engaging and training our youth in STEM-related subjects.

Global Trader of the Year
Exporting is a critical part of the U.S. economy, supporting millions of American jobs every year. The Global Trader of the Year Award recognizes one small to medium-sized organization that has successfully created jobs and launched its products, services or technologies abroad.

Member Company of the Year
Many Automation Alley members contribute significant time, energy and expertise to the growth and development of our organization. The Member Company of the Year Award recognizes one organization that has gone above and beyond to create awareness of Automation Alley as the premier technology association in the state.

Past Award Recipients

Automation Alley Member of the Year
2014    Comau
2013    Rochelle A. Black (Oakland University)
2012    Laura Oliveto (Basso Design Group)
2011    Al Carpinelli (Logic Solutions, Inc.)
2010    John Almstadt (Oakland County Workforce Development Division)
2009    Hennessey Capital
2008    Stephen Cassin (Macomb County Government)
2007    David Darbyshire (DASI Solutions, LLC)
2006    Dawn Smith (Oakland County)
2005    Dr. Patrick Callaghan (AlixPartners)
2004    Jenn Cornell (Eiler Communications)
2003    John Channell (Resource Technologies Corporation)
2002    Lawrence Technological University
2001    Tom Wilkinson (Fourmation Technologies, Inc.)

Educational Program of the Year
2014    Michigan Advanced Technician Training Program (MAT2)
2013    Central Michigan University New Venture Competition (Central Michigan University)
2012    Fifth Core™ World Language & Culture Program (Oxford Community Schools)
2011    Utica Community Schools Center for Science and Industry (Utica Community Schools)
2010    Baker College Online (Baker College)
2009    Michigan Virtual University
2008    Southeast Michigan Community College Consortium Centers of Expertise Program (Southeast Michigan Community College Consortium)
2007    Hustle & TECHknow Preparatory High School
2006    Integration 2000 (Malow Junior High)
2005    Haas Technical Education Centers (HTECs) (Gerotech)
2004    F.I.R.S.T Robotics
2003    A World in Motion (SAE Foundation)
2002    Applied Technology in Business (ATiB) Program (Oakland University)
2001    Oakland County Competitive Robotics Association (Oakland Schools)

Entrepreneur of the Year
2014    David Wang and Ronny Chiang (BEET Analytics Technology, LLC)
2013    Bill Coughlin (Ford Global Technologies, LLC)
2012    Jake Sigal (Livio Radio)
2011    Paul Angott (Angott Medical Products, LLC)

Global Trader of the Year
2014    Firstronic LLC
2013    Fluxtrol, Inc.
2012    Dan Kocks (Global Impact Group, MFG)
2011    The Wireless Source

Technology Company of the Year
2014    Detroit Labs
2013    Pratt & Miller Engineering
2012    GalaxE.Solutions Inc.
2011    Lakeside Software, Inc.
2010    Rave Computer
2009    Grid4 Communications
2008    Adaptive Materials, Inc.
2007    Plexus Systems, Inc.
2006    Lear Corporation
2005    DELMIA
2004    Clarity Technologies Inc.
2003    Altair Engineering
2002    EDS
2001    Great Lakes Technologies Group

Emerging Leader of the Year (awarded 2005-2011)
2011    Daniel Jaraczewski (R&E Automated Systems)
2010    Saylor X. Frase (Nuspire Networks)
2009    Bill Wagner (SRT Solutions)
2008    Dilip Dubey (Netlink Software Group)
2007    Richard Sheridan (Menlo Innovations, LLC)
2006    Gary Pilibosian (Microheat, Inc.)
2005    Dr. K. Joel Berry (Kettering University)

Emerging Technology Company of the Year (awarded 2005-2011)
2010    Critical Signal Technologies, Inc.
2009    My1HIE
2008    MIST Innovations Inc.
2007    RazorThreat
2006    Plexus Systems, Inc.
2005    Infor
2004    CogniTens, Inc.
2003    Holographic Imaging
2002    The Wireless Source
2001    Michigan Technology News.Com

CEO of the Year (awarded 2001-2010)
2010    Prabhakar Patil (LG Chem Power Inc.)
2009    Cynthia J. Pasky (Strategic Staffing Solutions)
2008    Kenneth Matzick (Beaumont Hospitals)
2007    George Jackson, Jr. (Detroit Economic Growth Corporation)
2006    Josh Linkner (ePrize, LLC)
2005    John Sanderson (Siemens VDO Automotive Corp.)
2004    Ron Wood (Modern Engineering, Inc.)
2003    Tony Takeuchi (DENSO International America, Inc.)
2002    Doug Rothwell (Michigan Economic Development Corporation)
2001    Larry Yost (ArvinMeritor, Inc.)

Regional Innovator of the Year (awarded 2010)
2010    New Economy Initiative for Southeast Michigan

Legend CEO (awarded 2001-2009)
2009    Terence Adderly (Kelly Services, Inc.)
2008    Robert Stempel (Energy Conversion Devices Inc.)
2007    Charles "Chip" McClure (ArvinMeritor, Inc.)
2006    Gail Torreano (AT&T)
2005    Richard E. Dauch (American Axle and Manufacturing, Inc.)
2004    Larry Yost (ArvinMeritor, Inc.)
2003    L. Brooks Patterson (Oakland County)
2002    J.T. Battenberg III (Delphi Corporation)
2001    Rajendra Vattikuti (Covansys Corp.)

Non-Profit Organization of the Year (awarded 2005-2009)
2009    Rochester Regional Chamber of Commerce
2008    Inforum
2007    Michigan Manufacturing Technology Center
2006    New Horizons Rehabilitation Services Inc
2005    Beaumont Hospitals

CIO of the Year (awarded 2001-2006)
2006    John Crary (Lear Corporation)
2005    No Award Made
2004    Phil Bertolini (Oakland County)
2003    Ralph Szygenda (General Motors)
2002    Susan Unger (DaimlerChrysler)
2001    Erik Naugle (ANXeBusiness Corp.)

Foundation Members